Following is the Typhoon Labuyo latest update available from the state weather bureau's latest bulletin issued at 5:00 a.m., Sunday, August 11, 2013. Typhoon "LABUYO" has intensified further as it continues to threaten Luzon.

Typhoon Labuyo Satellite Image
Satellite Picture at 4:01 a.m., 11 August 2013

PAGASA has placed 37 areas in the country, including Metro Manila, under public storm warning signals early Sunday morning amid the threat posed by Typhoon Labuyo.

Originally packing maximum winds of 120 kilometers per hour near the center and gustiness of 150 kph at 11:00 p.m. Saturday, Typhoon Labuyo has now maximum winds of 150 kilometers per hour near the center and has increased its gustiness to 170 kph, PAGASA said.

Typhoon Labuyo was last spotted 375 kilometers east of Daet, Camarines Norte (14.3°N, 126.7°E) and is moving west-northwest at 19 kph.

It is expected to be 80 km Southeast of Casiguran, Aurora by Monday morning, 150 km West of Laoag City by Tuesday morning, and 530 km Northwest of Laoag City or outside the PAR by Wednesday morning.

Estimated rainfall amount is from 7.5 - 25 mm per hour (heavy - intense) within the 600 km diameter of Typhoon.

"Residents in low lying and mountainous areas under signal #3,#2 & #1 are alerted against possible flashfloods and landslides. Likewise, those living in coastal areas under signal #3 and #2 are alerted against storm surges," state weather bureau said.

It added that Typhoon Labuyo will enhance the southwest monsoon, which will bring moderate to occasionally heavy rains over the rest of Southern Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

"Sea travel is risky over the seaboards of Visayas and Palawan," PAGASA warned.

Below are the areas having public storm warning signals:

Signal No.3 (101-185 kph winds)
  • Catanduanes
Signal No. 2 (61-100 kph winds)
  • Isabela
  • Ifugao
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Aurora
  • Quirino
  • Polillo Is.
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
Signal No. 1 (45-60 kph winds)
  • Cagayan
  • Calayan Group of Islands
  • Babuyan Group of Islands
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Apayao
  • Kalinga
  • Abra
  • Mountain Province
  • Benguet
  • La Union
  • Pangasinan
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales
  • Pampanga
  • Bulacan
  • Bataan
  • Rizal
  • Quezon
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • Batangas
  • Marinduque
  • Albay
  • Sorsogon
  • Burias
  • Ticao Islands
  • Metro Manila

Post a Comment Blogger