Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile resigns as Senate President and declares the post vacant during his privilege speech on Monday, January 21, 2013. Eleven senators against 3, however, voted to retain him as Senate President.

Senators Aquilino "Koko" Pimentel and Antonio Trillanes IV voted for Enrile's motion to vacate the post while senators Joker Arroyo and Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. abstained from voting.

Sotto, Senate pro tempore Jinggoy Estrada, Gringo Honasan, Lacson, Bong Revilla, Frank Drilon, TJ Guingona, Ralph Recto, Lito Lapid, Chiz Escudero, and Loren Legarda voted against Enrile's motion.

In a privilege speech, Enrile nominated some of his critics – Senators Miriam Defensor-Santiago, Antonio Trillanes IV, Alan Peter Cayetano, and Pia Cayetano to take his place.

"I ask that my motion be immediately put to a vote to pave the way for Madam Miriam Defensor Santiago, Senator Antonio Trillanes, any of the Cayetano siblings, or anyone else here who may share the same sentiments against my leadership and who may be secretly interested in this job the chance to be nominated and to seek the majority’s support to be elected as the new leader of the Senate," he said.

Enrile also shot back at his detractors at the Senate, describing them as 'cowards and hypocrites.'

Post a Comment Blogger